GCI Wins The 2018 Under-16 South West Hockey Foundation Tournament

Government College Ibadan has won the maiden edition of the Under-16 South West Hockey Foundation Tournament hosted by Oyo State between November 21st and 24th, 2018 at Lekan Salami Sports Complex, Adamasingba, Ibadan.

The Oyo State Hockey Team represented by GCI Hockey Team had earlier thrashed their Ogun State counterpart from Nawarudeen Secondary School, Obantoko, Ogun State by seven non replied goals. The match saw Ademola David of GCI score a double brace.

The grand finale of the competition was between Oyo State and Ekiti State. Ekiti State was represented by Ado Grammar School, who had earlier defeated Okemagba Junior High School of Lagos State in the preliminary stage by two goals to one..

Ado Ekiti took an early lead by a lone goal which was scored by Tolu Odedokun through a well delivered penalty kick in the second quarter of the match, after a goalless draw in the first quarter. It would be recalled that Government College Ibadan had never been held to a draw in the history of the tournament's final. Shortly after the equaliser, the home team scored two non replied goals to emerge as the winner of the tournament and defending champion of the defunct GCI Quandrangular Hockey Competition.

In the Third Place contest, Okemagba Junior High School, Epe, Lagos State defeated St. Mark Commercial School, Oshogbo, Osun State by two goals to nil to claim the Bronze medal.

Amongst the dignitaries who were present on Saturday were Engr. Folarin Olujembol, the President of the South West Hockey Foundation and former National Hockey player, Mr Gboyega Makinde, the General Manager of Oyo State Sports Council, Mr Lawal, the Director, Admin. and Supply of Oyo State Sports Council, Mr Yemi Abiodun, HCD ball games; Mr Leye Akintunde, a Senior Organiser; Mr Adeleke, the PRO of Oyo State Sports Council; Pastor Simeon O. Oladele, the immediate past Principal of Government College Ibadan. among many others

The following awards were won,

Highest Goalscorer: David Ademola of Government College Ibadan, Oyo State. He scored 8 goals.

Best Goalkeeper: Idowu Fatihu of St. Mark Commercial Oshogbo, Osun State.

Best Left Half Back: Olanipekun Kehinde of Ado Ekiti Grammer School, Ekiti State.

Fair Play Award: Aquinas College, Ondo State.

Young Player: Ajayi Opeyemi of Ado Ekiti Grammer School, Ekiti State.

Most Valuable Player: Olaitan Abdulrazaq of Okemagba Junior High School Epe, Lagos State.

Picture Description
David Ademola, the Highest Goalscorer of the tournament flaunting his award with his School Principal, Dr Tunde Odekunle at the ADmin Block of GCI on Monday, 26th of November, 2018.


Item circa: 


File Classification: 

Design and Development by websesame.