GCI Wins The DJ Bullock Inter-School Theatre For SDGs Contest, Students Get Endorsement


The Dereck John Bullock Inter-School Theatre For Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) Contest aimed at enlightening the secondary school students in Ibadan on the 17 United Nations SDGs; improving the students’ communication, critical thinking and performance skills; and creating a platform for discovering and grooming artistic talents had come and gone, but its awesome memories linger on.

The contest co-organised by The DJ Bullock Endowment Fund Committee and Educare Trust Nigeria, started in April 2018 and engaged 16 public secondary schools within the confines of Ibadan South West LGA of Oyo State, of which 5 schools, which were Queens School, Ibadan, Government College Ibadan, St. Teresa’s College, Oke-Ado, Oke-Bola Comprehensive High School and Celestial Church of Christ High School, Oke – Ado; qualified for the final.

The grand finale chaired by Mr. Yanju Adegbite, the Special Adviser to the Oyo State Government and Project Director of BCOS, and an Old Boy of GCI; took place on Wednesday, 25th July, 2018 at the Assembly Hall of the host school, Government College Ibadan. The GCIOBA National President was ably represented by the First National Vice - President, Chief Olaleye Falore. Each of the 5 finalists presented their playlets before the Panel of Judges comprising Prof. Bode Sowande (Chief Judge) - a renowned Playwright, Writer, Dramatist and BoD member, Lincoln Centre Theatre, New York, and an Old Boy of GCI; Taiwo Ibikunle - a well known Nollywood actor and current Chairman, National Association of Nigerian Theatre Arts Practitioners (NANTAP) Oyo State chapter; and Jav Fredricks Imoni, an eminent movie Director.

At the end, Government College Ibadan, having presented a 20-minute playlet titled ‘Thorns of Inequality’ directed and written by Aremu Olalekan and Elechi Ifeanyichukwu from SSS III and SSS II Classes respectively; was adjudged the best and came first. Queens’ School Ibadan’s ‘A Girl Can’ written and directed by Oladapo Oluwaferanmi and a teacher respectively came second while ‘The Storms of life’ of St. Theresa’s Secondary School’s written and also directed by the duo of Akanji Mujeebat & Ogunbewon Boluwatife came third.

Furthermore, the Chief Judge announced that Queens School Ibadan had the best Playwright, Stage Manager, and Actor – Miss Olatunbosun Tolulope whose stage name was ‘Baba Sade’ while St. Theresa’s College had the best Set Designer. The host had the Best Costumier and Stage Director.

Two actors, Mr Ajibade and Mr Oluyemi of GCI; and one actress, Miss Olatunbosun Tolulope of QSI were also endorsed for a forthcoming movie production.

The Hall went agog as visiting, and participating students, teachers and guests expressed their overt pleasure, and they showered the organisers a lot of encomiums and accolades.

The Chief Judge on behalf of the Panel of Judges congratulated members of all the casts, and recalled that Wole Soyinka’s ‘Strong Breed’ was premiered in the same hall they used, decades ago. He added that he wasn’t surprised at the bundles of talent discovered, that GCI is well known to breed exceptional talents in all spheres. The Chairman of the event encouraged the young talents to nurture the fantastic and valuable artistic skills in them, for their future peruse.

Mr. Banwo Smith, a member of The DJ Bullock Endowment Fund Committee, and an Old Boy of GCI; in his closing remarks thanked everyone and reiterated their commitment in doing what DJ Bullock would have loved to do.

It would be recalled that Mr. Dereck John Bullock, a Briton, was a principal in Government College Ibadan between 1960 and 1968, and dedicated his entire life to imparting the very best secondary school education to his students, and also made it possible for a significant number of indigent students to attend schools in which he served by paying their tuition fees from his own pocket. He was an authority in Theatre Art.

1. Mr Adeyemo - GCI Principal, School I
2. Dr Tunde Odekunle - GCI Principal, Senior School
3. Mr. Yanju Adegbite - Special Adviser to the Oyo State Government and Project Director of BCOS; and Chairman of the event.
4. Mr. Aremu Olalekan - SSS III, GCI (Best Director)

Design and Development by websesame.